Photo

How can I merge a database into another?

Merge

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 leighstulack

leighstulack

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 06:55 PM

I apologize if this is a silly question. I have a "master" database. I created a separate one to try and flesh out a connection and finally made one (yay!)> Now I don't want to retype all of this new data into the master db. I want to add it into my master db via the main link/person. Can I do that? Any help greatly appreciated.

Leigh
--
Leigh Stulack

#2 R Steven

R Steven

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 07:45 PM

There are a couple of ways you can do this. The most convenient way depends on how many duplicate people here are in the two databases. If there aren't very many, you can export the smaller database as a GEDCOM file and then import it into your "master" database. You do this using the Export and Import choices in the File menu. When you import it, be sure to pick the choice to Combine Into This Database. You then have a choice on whether to add a citation to each of the people you are adding indicating where the data came from. (It doesn't sound like this is appropriate in your particular case.) After adding in the new records, you'll want to check for duplicates using manual or automatic merge.

If there are a lot of duplicate records in the two databases, but only a few records to add, another way might be better. After opening your "master" database, open the smaller database at the same time. RoomsMagic will show both files on the screen. You can then drag and drop people from one window into the other. When you do so you have the choice of adding a single person, a person and their descendants, everyone in the tree, people you select form a list, and so forth. After combining the two files in this way, you may again want to do an automatic or manual merge to combine duplicates.

#3 TomH

TomH