• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 17mars

17mars

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:12 PM

Hello, I'm brand new to Rootsmagic. I made the mistake of importing an ancestry.com GEDCOM into my file and now have a LOT of people in my file that I didn't want. I see no way to undo the import. Am I right in thinking I'm going to have to delete this file and start fresh in order to get rid of these hundreds of unproven relatives I didn't want?
Thanks for any advice.

#2 Laura

Laura

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4276 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 06:54 PM

The quickest way if you have no backup or other copy of the database before you imported the Ancestry gedcom or have done a lot of entry after it was reported is to create a new database. Export and import a full gedcom or drag and drop into the new database the people you want to keep and exclude the people you don't want to keep.

If using a copy or new database created by direct import or gedcom, back the new database up before doing anything else.

Color coding the people you don't want to keep and the people you want to exclude different colors. Use the color coding for the people you want to keep as a search criteria to mark when selecting a list to export a gedcom or people to drag and drop.

For example, People to keep, Purple. People to exclude, Red.

If you haven't linked anyone from the Ancestry.com gedcom to people already in your database, you can select who to color code by highlighting a person in the Ancestry gedcom, choose Red, and choose Everyone in the person's tree on the Select people to color code screen.

There are various ways to select the people to color code. If you added a source on the gedcom import screen you can use that or a date last edited range, for instance.