Photo

How to make a Global Sentence Template Change?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 bridgelover

bridgelover

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 12:19 PM

I am brand new to Roots Magic and was a Family Origins user. With FO, I was able to make global changes to the sentence structure in my narrative reports. Now that I've changed over to RM, the sentences in Roots Magic, particularly "occupation facts" read incorrectly. I am getting sentences like..he was a was a teacher. Or a sentence includes an "a" when none is needed in the sentence. I have over 10,000 names in my database. It would be near impossible to make changes to each individual person's data. Can't I make a global change for all people?

#2 Alfred

Alfred

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5734 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 01:29 PM

Go to the Lists - Fact type list and highlight the fact for which you want the sentence template changed.
Click on edit, then the principal and finally, Edit Role.

The default sentence template for the Occupation fact is:
[date] [person] was [Desc:A]< [PlaceDetails]>< [Place]>.

The Help menu, under sentence template language shows that if you change the :A to :Plain you won't get the extra "a"

So you might want to change the original template to:
[date] [person] was [Desc:Plain]< [PlaceDetails]>< [Place]>.
Alfred

#3 bridgelover

bridgelover

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 03:59 PM

Thank you so much for your post! It was just what I needed to fix my problem. :)

Go to the Lists - Fact type list and highlight the fact for which you want the sentence template changed.
Click on edit, then the principal and finally, Edit Role.

The default sentence template for the Occupation fact is:
[date] [person] was [Desc:A]< [PlaceDetails]>< [Place]>.

The Help menu, under sentence template language shows that if you change the :A to :Plain you won't get the extra "a"