3 replies to this topic

#1 A Descendant

A Descendant

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 10:57 AM

Hello, I am new to RootsMagic 5 having recently switched from FTM 16 and i am somewhat confused when it comes to source citations.

I had created a new master source for a certain database of marriage records (Pennsylvania County Marriages, 1885 - 1950) on FamilySearch using the template "Vital Record, Filmed (FHL-GSU)" as that seemed to be closest to what i needed. When i came to the field for the film number i put in the film number given on the FamilySearch page for the record i was viewing. However i discovered after going through several records in that collection that they have various film numbers.

So now I don't know what should be in that field for "film number". I don't want to make a master source for every single record I use from that collection. Should I haved used another template for the source? Should i leave that field blank and somehow put the film number in the details of each citation?

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6174 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:25 PM

If you want the film number to change with multiple citations of the source, either you will have to use an existing field in the Source Details OR revise the template, moving the film number field from Master Source to Source Detail. You cannot edit a built-in template; to get around that barrier, make a copy of the template you used, edit it to move the field (you may also need to edit the sentence templates, especially Bibliography so that it won't use that field). Then create a new Master Source from that template and merge your old Master Source into the new. Now you should have an empty film number field for each citation which you will need to fill in.